Riverview Prep rewards hard work

Salman Patel and David Thomson both won several awards.

MALALANE – The grade sevens of Riverview Prep School entered the dark hall with candles and placed them on the stage to start the annual prize-giving ceremony.

This year’s theme was “Be a light in the world” and was reflected in the beautiful miniature lighthouse that stood on the stage behind the grade-seven classes’ chairs, as well as the Scripture reading and prayer.

Mr Sean Barry, the outgoing headmaster, reflected on the year’s triumphs, tragedies and changes. He thanked the teachers by name, mentioned the great results at the Eisteddfod and stated that he was very proud of the sports kids and their parents for the year’s results.

His speech was followed by one from Sonke Mabuza and Loyiso Mangena, who represented the grade sevens and urged pupils and parents to be a light in the world.

Certificates were then handed out to the grade one to three classes for various personal and academic achievements.

The top learner in each grade was also announced: Luke Spear (grade four), Danielle Poulton (grade five), Renée Sutherland (grade six) and David Thomson (grade seven).

Aliza Raja won the Debbie Palmer Trophy for Perseverance.

Aliza Raja won the Debbie Palmer Trophy for Perseverance.

The group of pupils who completed the Riverview Challenge received bronze, silver or gold certificates and medals.

Rinus Marais received the Balcomb trophy for the overall sporting house in interhouse on behalf of the Hornbills and Riley Barry the Robbert’s academic house-points trophy on behalf of the Rollers.

Special awards were handed out to several pupils, with a few scooping up more than one.

Libby Ralfe was crowned junior sportswoman of the year and received the Mohammed reading trophy, with Nick de Zwart as junior sportsman, their senior counterparts were Caitlin Dehrmann and Loyiso Mangena. Loyiso also won the Esselens and Engelbrecht trophy for English creative writing and the Brokensha trophy for good fellowhip.

Rodé Marais won the Esselens and Engelbrecht trophy for Afrikaans creative writing and the Simon Lombaard trophy for leadership. David Thomson won the Service to Riverview School award and shares the Pythagoras trophy for innovative thinking in mathematics, science and technology with Salman Patel. Salman Patel also won the Malalane Business Chamber trophy for entrepreneurship. Aliza Raja won the Debbie Palmer trophy for perseverance.

Junior sportswoman and sportsman Caitlin Dehrmann and Loyiso Mangena.

Junior sportswoman and sportsman Caitlin Dehrmann and Loyiso Mangena.

Sonke Mabuza received the Chiyoka senior reading trophy, Zoë Magwaza the Riverview Staff Award for cultural participation and Rebecca Glass won the Coco van Aardt trophy for her sense of peace and calmness centered around her faith.

The grade sevens then presented their gift to the school, a new pin noticeboard display cabinet.

The Barry family was then thanked for their contribution to the school and a tribute was read out to the headmaster, who then thanked everyone.

The ceremony was concluded with the school singing a song in tribute to the grade sevens and everybody joining in for the school song.

See more photos of the prize-winners here.

Read more about the school’s activities:

Retha Nel

Latest News


Next Story x
Inwoners krap kop oor vreemde ongeluk in Rissikstraat